Devbhoomi Darshan: interesting Facts about Uttarakhand

Devbhoomi Darshan: interesting Facts about Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand,  It is often called the “Land of the Gods” due to its abundance of Hindu temples and pilgrimage centers. Uttarakhand is renowned for its natural beauty, encompassing the Himalayas, Bhabar, and Terai regions.

Rishikesh Uttarakhand
Rishikesh Uttarakhand

It became the 27th state of the Republic of India on November 9, 2000, after being carved out of the Himalayan districts of Uttar Pradesh.

Uttarakhand shares borders with China’s Tibet Autonomous Region to the north, Nepal to the east, and the Indian states of Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh to the south, west, and northwest, respectively.

The state is divided into two divisions, Garhwal and Kumaon, comprising a total of 13 districts. The capital city of Uttarakhand is Dehradun, which is also the largest city and serves as a major railhead. The state’s High Court is situate in Nainital.

Basically Uttarakhand has 3 region

  1. Garhwal
  2. Kumaon
  3. Jaunsar-Bawar( No leagal entity)

it includes the districts of Chamoli, Dehradun, Haridwar, Pauri Garhwal, Rudraprayag, Tehri Garhwal, and Uttarkashi.


It includes the districts of Almora, Bageshwar, Champawat, Nainital, Pithoragarh, and Udham Singh Nagar.


It is a hilly region, 85 km from Mussoorie, in Chakrata tehsil, in Dehradun district, it is not an separate administrative body but due to different culture , food and customs it is protected by Gov .

Did you know facts about Uttarakhand?

Is Uttarakhand and Uttaranchal the same

Yes, both are same , Uttarakhand, previously known as Uttaranchal, is 27th state of India.

What is the official language of Uttarakhand

Hindi is official language of uttarakhand .
Sanskrit is 2nd official language. Uttarakhand is the only state where Sanskrit is official langauge .

What do you call the people from Uttarakhand

mainly uttarakhand is devided into two region , Garhwal & Kumaon. People from Garhwal region is called garhwali and from kumaon region called kumaoni.

What is the capital of Uttarakhand

Dehradun is Provisional Capital of uttarakhand ,but permanant capital has to be decided by Govt.

How many districts are there in Uttarakhand.

There are 13 districts in all in Uttarakhand,
Almora, Bageshwar,Chamoli,Champawat, Dehradun,Haridwar,Nainital,
Pauri Garhwal, Pithoragarh,Rudraprayag ,Tehri Garhwal,Uttarkashi, and uddham Singh Nagar,

coldest place in uttarakhand

Auli (Garhwal upto -15 Degree C) and Munsyari(Kumaon upto -10 Degree C )

Which is the best hill station in Uttarakhand.

There are many hill stations in Uttarakhand but few names are very famous.
Tehri .

What is the famous sweet dish of Uttarakhand

Bal Mithai , Singori and Chocolate burfi

what is the famous food of uttarakhand

Fanu, Bhatt ki Churkani , Aloo ke gutke. thichwani , kafuli

What is the state animal of Uttarakhand?

Alpine Mask Dear (Kasturi Mrig)

Who is known as Gandhi of uttarakhand .

Indramani Badoni is known as “Mountain Gandhi”

What is the special fruit of Uttarakhand?

Kafal is special fruit form Uttarakhand

When was Uttarakhand formed

9 Nov 2000

Which city is called Queen of the Hiils Uttarakhand?

Mussoorie known as Queen of the Hills

Where is lake of skeleton?

Rupkund (Chamoli ) is lake of skeleton.

What is state flower of uttarakhand?

Brahm Kamal (White Lotus )

How many tribes in uttarakhand.

Tribes of Uttarakhand mainly comprise five major groups namely Jaunsari tribe, Tharu tribe, Raji tribe, Buksa tribe, and Bhotiyas. 

Which tribe is largest in Uttarakhand?

Considering the population Jaunsari tribe is the largest tribal group of the state

How many % of Land is forest area of uttarakhand.

71% of Geographical area is forest cover area.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: